In Switzerland, between 2015 and 2017, around 43 400 people developed cancer every year. This represents 475 people per 100 000 population. From 1994-96 to 2015-2017, a decrease was seen in the annual incidence rate among men for bronchus, lung and respiratory tract cancer, (from 85 to 63 cases per 100 000 population). Over the same period, the incidence rate for these same cancers increased among women (from 24 to 39 cases per 100 000 population). A sharp increase among both sexes was seen for melanoma from 21 to 34 cases per 100 000 population).

Over the whole period men developed cancer slightly more than women. Cancer of the prostate is the most frequent cancer among men, followed by bronchus, lung and respiratory tract cancer as well as colon cancer. Among women, it is breast cancer, followed by colon cancer as well as bronchus, lung and respiratory tract cancer.

This indicator is part of the Monitoring System Addiction and NCD (MonAM) of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH).

Assigned topics

Today, cancer is the most common cause of death in Switzerland – closely followed by cardiovascular diseases (FSO). Cancer is also responsible for the greatest number of potential years of life lost in Switzerland (see “Years of life lost to NCD” indicator). With the demographic ageing of Switzerland’s population, cancer will become an even more important subject in the future, as the risk of developing most types of cancer increases with age. The most common types of cancer are breast cancer, prostate cancer, colon cancer, melanoma and bronchus, lung and respiratory tract cancer. A major risk factor for melanoma is ultraviolet radiation from the sun or lamps, such as those used in solariums. The risk factors of diet, exercise, alcohol and tobacco play an important role for the other four types of cancer.

The most relevant method to demonstrate the impact of measures in the prevention or treatment of cancer is to present the main types of cancer.

Definition

Swiss cancer data are provided by the NICER foundation (National Institute for Cancer Epidemiology and Registration) and the cantonal cancer registers. Since the cancer registration law (KRG - SR 818.33) came into force – from 2016 data onwards – this task has been assumed by the National Agency for Cancer Registration (NACR), run by the NICER foundation. This indicator is updated every three years. 

This indicator shows the annual cancer incidence rate per 100 000 population (more precisely: the annual average over a three-year period) as well as the percentage distribution of types of cancer. Epidemiology uses the term “incidence” to describe the number of new cases occurring in a defined population in a given period of time. The data by canton and sex are age-standardised according to the European standard population in 1976. Data by age and sex show the crude rates.

The cancer types are determined according to the ICD-10 :

  • C00-43, 45-97: All cancers (excl. non-melanotic skin cancer)
  • C18-20: Colon cancer (colon and rectal cancer)
  • C33-34: Bronchus, lung and respiratory tract cancer
  • C43: Melanoma
  • C50: Breast cancer
  • C61: Prostate cancer

There are several reasons for spatial or temporal differences between cancer incidence rates in the cantons (environmental factors, diagnostic factors and data availability, etc.). The incidence rates shown should, therefore, be interpreted with caution. The cancer registration law of 18 March 2016 introduced the uniform registration of cancers on a nationwide basis, further improving the comparability of data on the cancer burden in all cantons.

Source

  • National Agency for Cancer Registration (NACR): Website

Reference

Further information

  • Cancer league: website (in German, French and Italian)
  • Childhood Cancer Registry: website
  • National Institue for Cancer Epidemiology and Registration (NICER): website 
  • Swiss Cancer Report 2021. Current situation and developments (2021). Federal Statistical Office (FSO), National Agency for Cancer Registration (NACR) Childhood Cancer Registry (KiKR). Neuchâtel: Report (in German and French).
  • Swiss Federal Statistical Office (FSO): Cancer in Switzerland 2013-2017

Media enquiries

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Tel. +41 58 462 95 05
media@bag.admin.ch

Last updated

13.04.2022

De 2015 à 2017, le nombre de personnes chez qui un cancer a été diagnostiqué s’élève en moyenne à près de 43 400 par année, soit 475 pour 100 000 habitants. Au cours des années 1994/1996 à 2015/2017, le nombre annuel de nouveaux cas a diminué chez les hommes (passant de 85 à 63 pour 100 000 habitants), alors qu’il a augmenté chez les femmes (de 24 à 39 pour 100 000 habitants). Ce constat vaut en particulier pour le cancer des poumons, des bronches et de la trachée. Pour ce qui est du mélanome malin (cancer de la peau), on observe une forte hausse pour les deux sexes, le nombre de cas passant de 21 à 34 pour 100 000 habitants.

Durant toute la période observée, les hommes ont été légèrement plus touchés que les femmes. Chez les hommes, le cancer de la prostate est le plus fréquent, suivi par celui des poumons, des bronches et de la trachée ainsi que le cancer colorectal. Chez les femmes, il s’agit du cancer du sein, suivi par le cancer colorectal et celui des poumons, des bronches et de la trachée.

Cet indicateur fait partie du système de monitorage Addiction et MNT (MonAM) de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP).

Le cancer représente aujourd’hui la cause de décès la plus fréquente en Suisse, juste avant les maladies cardiovasculaires (source: OFS). Il est de plus responsable du nombre le plus élevé d’années potentielles de vie perdues (voir indicateur «Années de vie perdues en raison d’une MNT»). Étant donné le vieillissement démographique, les cancers joueront un rôle encore plus important à l’avenir, car le risque d’en développer un augmente avec l’âge, et cela pour la plupart des types de cancer. Les types les plus fréquents sont le cancer du sein, le cancer de la prostate, le cancer du côlon, le mélanome malin et le cancer des poumons, des bronches et de la trachée. Les rayons ultraviolets du soleil ou de lampes, comme celles d’un solarium, constituent un grand facteur de risque du mélanome. Dans les quatre autres types de cancer, ce sont le tabac, l’alimentation, l’activité physique et l’alcool qui jouent un rôle central.

Pour pouvoir illustrer de manière pertinente l’efficacité des mesures de prévention et des traitements, il est important de recenser les données des principaux types de cancer.

Définition

Les données suisses sur le cancer proviennent de la fondation NICER (Institut national pour l’épidémiologie et l’enregistrement du cancer) et des registres cantonaux des tumeurs. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi sur l’enregistrement des maladies oncologiques (LEMO, RS 818.33), en 2016, ces données sont, mises à disposition par l’Organe national d’enregistrement du cancer (ONEC), qui est géré par la fondation NICER. L’indicateur est mis à jour tous les trois ans.

L’indicateur présente le nombre total de nouveaux cas de cancer enregistrés en une année pour 100 000 habitants (il donne plus précisément les moyennes annuelles de trois années) ainsi que la répartition en pour-cent des types de cancer. En épidémiologie, on utilise le terme incidence pour désigner le nombre de nouveaux cas d’une maladie survenant au sein d’un groupe de population donné au cours d’une période déterminée. Les données par canton et par sexe sont standardisées selon l’âge sur la base de la population européenne standard de 1976. Les données par âge et par sexe sont des taux bruts.

Les types de cancer ont été définis d’après la CIM-10:

  • C00-43, 45-97: tous les types de tumeurs (sauf les cancers cutanés non mélanocytaires)
  • C18-20: tumeur maligne du côlon et du rectum
  • C33-34: tumeur maligne de la trachée, des bronches ou du poumon
  • C43: mélanome malin de la peau
  • C50: tumeur maligne du sein
  • C61: tumeur maligne de la prostate

Les différences entre les taux d’incidence cantonaux observées aux niveaux géographique et temporel peuvent s’expliquer de différentes manières (facteurs environnementaux, diagnostics, disponibilité des données, etc.). Il faut donc interpréter ces taux avec prudence. La loi du 18 mars 2016 sur l’enregistrement des maladies oncologiques instaure des critères uniformes d’enregistrement au niveau suisse, ce qui va améliorer la comparabilité des données cantonales.

Source

  • Organe national d’enregistrement du cancer (ONEC): Site web 

Référence

Informations complémentaires

  • ​​​​​Institut National pour l’Épidémiologie et l’Enregistrement du Cancer (NICER): Site web
  • Le cancer en Suisse, rapport 2021. État des lieux et évolutions (2021). Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS), Organe national d’enregistrement du cancer (ONEC), Registre du cancer de l’enfant (RCdE). Neuchâtel: Rapport.
  • Ligue suisse contre le cancer: Site web
  • Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS): Le cancer en Suisse 2013-2017
  • Registre du cancer de l’enfant: Site web

Services de presse

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Tél. +41 58 462 95 05
media@bag.admin.ch

Renseignements

Tél. +41 58 463 60 45
obsan@bfs.admin.ch
https://www.obsan.admin.ch/fr/contact

Dernière mise à jour

13.04.2022